Latest News

John Tory on Backdrop

May 2, 2022
John Tory registers to run for his third term as Mayor of Toronto

Today, John Tory registered to run for his third term as Mayor of Toronto.

"I love this city and I want to make sure Toronto comes back stronger than ever in the years ahead - that will take strong and experienced leadership that works," said Tory. "I want to keep working for you day in and day out. That’s what I’ve done every day as Mayor, including over the last two years confronting COVID-19 – and that’s what I’m promising to do if re-elected."

An inspiring list of leaders from across Toronto signed Mayor Tory's nomination papers. Masai Ujiri, Jean Augustine, and former Mayors David Crombie and Art Eggleton are among the 44 people who have endorsed the Mayor candidacy today.

Right now, the Mayor remains focused on doing the job he was elected to do including leading the city through the pandemic, continuing Toronto's world-leading COVID-19 vaccination campaign, and encouraging the economic recovery.

Although Election Day isn't until October 24, today is the first day any candidate can register with the City Clerk to run in the 2022 municipal election.  Today’s registration allows candidates to begin activating the machinery of a campaign like putting up a website and opening a campaign account. 

In the months ahead, Mayor Tory looks forward to outlining his plans to continue the progress we have made on affordable housing, getting transit built, attracting new businesses and more jobs, increasing recreation and green space in the city, and making sure we continue to have a safe, secure and inclusive Toronto.

The following Torontonians are pleased to endorse John Tory for a third term as Mayor of Toronto:

  1. Zakaria Abdulle, Policy Entrepreneur

  2. Jonathan Ahee, Stratagem Studios 

  3. Muhammad Masood Alam, Director, Canadian Community Services Organization

  4. Neishaw Ali, Founding Partner and President, SpinVFX

  5. Jean Augustine, Community Leader and Former MP, Etobicoke-Lakeshore

  6. Barbara Bank, Chair, CIJA Toronto 

  7. Marcia Brown, Executive Director, Trust 15

  8. Kevin Collins, President and CEO, Easter Seals Ontario

  9. David Crombie, Former Mayor of Toronto 

  10. Glenn De Baeremaeker, Former City Councillor, Scarborough Centre 

  11. Nick Di Donato, President and CEO, Liberty Entertainment Group

  12. Art Eggleton, Former Mayor of Toronto

  13. Omar Farouk, President, International Muslim Organization

  14. Rabbi Aaron Flanzraich, Beth Sholom Synagogue

  15. Debbie Hutton, Consultant and Advisor 

  16. Inderjit Singh Jagraon, Board Member, Ontario Sikh and Gurdwara Council

  17. Sharifa Khan, President and CEO, Balmoral Multicultural Marketing; Honorary Patron, Chinese Cultural Centre of Greater Toronto

  18. Sevag Khoshian, President, Toronto Armenian Community Centre

  19. Alan Lam, President, Chinese Cultural Centre

  20. Miryam Lazarte, CEO and Co-Founder, LatAm Startups

  21. Michael Levitt, President, Friends of Simon Wiesenthal Center

  22. Gathyayini Manoharan, Associate, Nava Wilson LLP and Board of Directors, Canadian Tamil Youth Development Centre

  23. Marnie McBean, O.C., Speaker, Author, 3x Olympic Champion

  24. Geetha Moorthy, Founder, South Asian Autism Awareness Centre

  25. Mark Nguyen, Executive Director, Vietnamese Association Toronto

  26. Deqa Nur, Executive Director, Hooyo Innovation Hub

  27. Nareshroy Patel, Board of Directors, BAPS 

  28. Zubair Patel, Advisor and City Builder

  29. Jung Hee Pierce, Korean Cultural Centre Canada

  30. Raymond Reddy, Co-Founder and CEO, Ritual

  31. Rev. Jeff Rock, Metropolitan Community Church of Toronto

  32. Frances Sanderson, President, Toronto Aboriginal Support Service Council and Executive Director, Nishnawbe Homes Inc.

  33. Mary Ann San Juan, Filipino Centre Toronto

  34. Peter Schturyn, President, Ukrainian Canadian Congress

  35. Mark Shwec, Vice President, Ukrainian Canadian Congress

  36. David Simmonds, Global Chief Communications and Sustainability Officer, Great West-Lifeco & Canada Life and Harry Jerome Award Winner

  37. Dr. Parminder Singh, Director, Ontario Sikh & Gurdwara Council

  38. Nadine Spencer, President, Black Business and Professional Association

  39. Ahmad Tabrizi, Community Leader, Founder and Chair, Parya Trillium

  40. Hagop Torossian, Executive Board Member, Armenian Community Centre

  41. Masai Ujiri, President, Toronto Raptors

  42. Toni Varone, President, Varone Group

  43. Oksana Wasylyk, Executive Director, Ukrainian Culture Festival

  44. Mike Yorke, President, Carpenters Local 27